At the Top (1.3.11)

Published April 11, 2011 by Diosa

What comes into mind when you hear places such as Taipei 101, Petronas, Empire state? Well, they all made to the top list of the tallest buildings in the world. I am lucky I got to go inside the current tallest building in the world, Burj Khalifa, in Dubai, UAE. Burj Khalifa and I share same important numbers in our existence. 828. It measures 828 meters towering more than 300 meters over Taipei 101 while I celebrate my birthday on this date. It’s one fact that I’ll always remember about Burj Khalifa.

As far as I remember, we parked at the fashion avenue as it is the nearest parking and passed by the mall and went up and there was the entrance. There were so many tourists at that time and tickets were sold out. It was very tempting to scalpel our own tickets as we watched the frantic tourists trying to get inside. We had our ticket booked online. We got our tickets and waited for our scheduled tour. For those who are going with kids like us, you need to leave the strollers and big bags at the reception area.

A tour to the top is a glide in heaven for a camwhore like me.

Here’s the entrance and the walkalator going to the world’s fastest elevator.

Waiting for my turn to ride the elevator. It only took 2 minutes to get us at the top.

At the Top’s Observation Deck gives you the 360 degree view of Dubai. I was amazed how structures became so small that made them look scale models. It’s a haven for those who crave for overwhelming architectural designs. On the other side, it saddened and made me wonder what would happen to the unfinished structures. It was like being awed to one building and disappointed to the next. Another thing, I don’t know if its possible but I imagined that when I get to the top I would feel the strong wind blowing on to me. I hope that there would be an open area.

Anyway, it didn’t ruin my tour….

nor waver my enthusiasm to take as many pictures as I like.

Do you see the shadow of Burj Khalifa?

from the floor to the ceiling

My sister and I waited for the sunset. It was too beautiful and I enjoyed too much that I forgot to take the video. It’s always nice to see the works of man and nature when they blend in harmoniously. I don’t get to see Burj Al Arab and sunset together everyday. Do you?

These were series of designs before the final Burj Khalifa.

We saw a wall of the people who helped built the building. To be part of something big and historical, I could only feel pride and happiness for the fellow Pinoys I saw on the wall.

Did I mention I am a camwhore? Well, the following pictures would show a definite proof of what I claim to be. And as we headed out, I turned this walk-a-lator to my own fashion runway. Thanks to Ate for taking all my pictures, Ate Liezel for my “boots made to walk all over you,” and myself for shamelessly posing. :)))

By the way, they took a picture of our group upon entering and it cost AED250. A total rip off if we had bought it. Basically, the group shot was pasted on Dubai skyline. At night!

You know when I was in Hong Kong, I went to Victoria’s peak. They captured a great shot of our group with the Hong Kong night skyline behind us. Something people behind At the Top should do. A picture worth spending for.

Leave a Reply

